I’ve Been Told to Reflect

First published in NAPP My Portfolio 17 February 2015. Published in WordPress June 29 2016

It is all very well being told to reflect upon actions taken – but what do I think about? And what do I keep as a record of my reflection?

The pattern suggested by Peter Pappas in The Reflective Principal appeals to me.

All to often I find reflection struggles to get past Peters bottom line – what did I do? His path through “What was important?”  “Where could I use this again?” “Did I see any patterns in what I did?” “How well did I do?” to “What should I do next?”

I don’t see this as a requirement to use all six questions each time and climb up the taxonomy – rather as a tool to make sure over time I cover a range of aspects related to my leadership actions.

In my role in NAPP I think I have tended to simply say make a journal and record reflections related to your inquiry – on looking back this seems to have given little guidance to akonga and is part of what did I do?. How well did I do?

With few suggestions about what to do akonga have managed despite this lack to produce in many instances some very successful reflections and over views of their inquiry. However I suspect for many akonga there were doubts about what do do and in many cases the journal only appeared as a shared thing late in the year. This in turn reduced its value as a  tool seeking feedback.  What was important? Did I see any patterns?

There is no doubt that journals/blogs are invaluable and link well to successful metacognitive processes so we are again in 2015 asking akonga to share their journals with their learning partner and PLG – however with better support than in earlier years. Use again

Late in 2014 I bumped into Peter Pappas on the internet and thought this helps me sharpen my focus as I reflect and record some of those reflections. Perhaps this will be useful for support of reflective processes in NAPP?

 

About rogersvlle

Thinking about learning leaders and adding the internet and Its elements to their working worlds.
This entry was posted in Personal Learning Environments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

